Compliance

FATCA


The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) entered into force on 1 July 2014.
The FATCA provisions make it mandatory for any financial institution domiciled outside the United States to report to the American Internal Revenue Service (IRS) information about its customers who are considered US persons.

AXA Assurances Luxembourg s.a. has made itself a Foreign Financial Institution (FFI) with the IRS so that it can continue to provide a quality service to all its customers and comply with the FATCA obligations.
By being an FFI, AXA can continue to serve its US person customers when this regulation enters into force.

Common Reporting Standard


The Common Reporting Standard (hereafter CRS) is a regulation developed by OECD. Its aim is fiscal transparency that will lead to automatic exchange of information between States that have adopted the CRS. A participating jurisdiction (or "CRS jurisdiction") is a State that has agreed to incorporate the CRS regulation into its national legislation.

The European Union (EU) adopted the CRS via Directive 2014/107/EU as regards mandatory automatic exchange of information in the field of taxation, known as DAC2. The relations with the non-EU States are managed by multilateral agreements known as Competent Authority Agreements.

Under the CRS, it is mandatory for financial institutions and insurance companies to pass on information about financial accounts and policies with a purchase value held, directly or indirectly, by holders of these accounts or policies when they reside in a CRS jurisdiction.

For further information, please visit the OECD site at the following address: http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/taxation/norme-d-echange-automatique-de-renseignement-relatifs-aux-comptes-financiers-en-matiere-fiscale_9789264222090-fr

• Applicability of the CRS in Luxembourg

As an EU Member State, Luxembourg must transpose the DAC2 into Luxembourg law. As a result, Luxembourg financial institutions and insurance companies must send the information gathered to the local tax authority (Direct Contributions Administration) which will in turn transfer this information to the authorities in the State of residence of the holder of the account.

• CRS scope

The CRS regulations apply to all the financial institutions located in a CRS jurisdiction, which are obliged to identify the residents in another CRS jurisdiction. The CRS applies both to natural persons and legal entities.

The financial institutions must obtain self-certifications from account holders to identify the residents of a CRS jurisdiction. The information that in these self-certifications must include the State(s) of tax residency and the tax identification number.

• Information required under the CRS

Under the CRS, the financial institutions are obliged to:

1) Identify the customers for whom one of the CRS indices appears:

• Address (postal, residence, box number or care of) in a CRS jurisdiction;

• Telephone number of a CRS jurisdiction (where it is a single number);

• Power of attorney on the account granted to a person with an address in a CRS jurisdiction (postal, residence, box number or care of):

2) Document the customers with CRS indices.

The customers must sign the self-certification to confirm their tax residency(ies).

3) Pass on the information regarding:

• The identity and the information about the identification of the person with tax residency in a CRS jurisdiction;

• His account(s) and the account balance (or equivalent in terms of life insurance products);

• Financial income, including sale products;

The first transfer of information will take place in 2017 and will cover 2016.

• The effects of CRS on AXA Luxembourg customers

For new customers, AXA Luxembourg is obliged to obtain the tax residency of customers and their tax identification number. Failing that, AXA Luxembourg is not authorised to distribute a life insurance policy to the customer.

For customers who already have a policy, AXA Luxembourg is going to verify the information held on its customers and possibly contact those who fall within the CRS scope to obtain a self-certification. In this they must indicate their tax residency and provide their tax identification number. Failing that, AXA Luxembourg should consider the account holder as a reportable person.

Compliance

FATCA


Die FATCA-Regelung (Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act) trat am 1. Juli 2014 in Kraft.
Die FATCA-Bestimmungen verlangen von jedem Finanzinstitut, das seinen Sitz außerhalb der Vereinigten Staaten hat, der US-Behörde Internal Revenue Service („IRS“) Informationen über Kunden zu übermitteln, die als „US Persons“ zu betrachten sind.

Um allen Kunden weiterhin einen hochwertigen Service bieten und die FATCA-Bestimmungen einhalten zu können, erklärte sich AXA Assurances Luxembourg s.a. beim IRS zur Foreign Financial Institution („FFI“).
Der Status einer „FFI“ erlaubt es AXA, seine Kunden („US Person“) nach Inkrafttreten dieser Regelung weiterhin zu bedienen.

Der Common Reporting Standard


Der Common Reporting Standard (nachfolgend „CRS“) ist eine von der OECD entwickelte Regelung mit dem Ziel der steuerlichen Transparenz, die zu einem automatischen Informationsaustausch zwischen den Staaten führt, die den CRS übernommen haben. Ein teilnehmender Staat (oder „CRS-Staat“) ist ein Staat, der die Integration der CRS-Regelung in seine nationale Gesetzgebung akzeptiert hat.

Der CRS wurde von der Europäischen Union („EU“) mittels der Richtlinie bezüglich der Verpflichtung zum automatischen Austausch von Informationen im Bereich der Besteuerung (Richtlinie 2014/107/EU), die unter dem Namen „DAC 2“ bekannt ist, eingeführt. Die Beziehungen mit den Staaten außerhalb der EU werden über multilaterale Abkommen geregelt, die als „Competent Authority Agreement“ bezeichnet werden.

Der CRS verpflichtet Finanzinstitute und Versicherungsgesellschaften, Informationen über Finanzkonten und Verträge, die einen Rückkaufwert haben und sich direkt oder indirekt im Besitz der Inhaber dieser Konten oder Verträge befinden, während sie Gebietsansässige eines CRS-Staates sind, zu übermitteln.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Website der OECD unter folgender Adresse: http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/taxation/norme-d-echange-automatique-de-renseignement-relatifs-aux-comptes-financiers-en-matiere-fiscale_9789264222090-fr

• Die Geltung des CRS in Luxemburg

Luxemburg muss als Mitgliedstaat der EU die DAC 2 in luxemburgisches Recht umsetzen. Daher müssen luxemburgischen Finanzinstitute und Versicherungsgesellschaften die gesammelten Informationen an die lokale Steuerbehörde (Administration des Contributions Directes) übermitteln, die ihrerseits diese Informationen an die Behörden des Wohnsitzlandes des Kontoinhabers übermittelt.

• Der Geltungsbereich des CRS

Die CRS-Regelung gilt für alle Finanzinstitute in einem CRS-Staat und verpflichtet diese Institute, Gebietsansässige eines anderen CRS-Staates zu identifizieren. Der CRS gilt sowohl für natürliche, als auch für juristische Personen.

Um die Gebietsansässigen eines CRS-Staates zu identifizieren, müssen die Finanzinstitute eine „Selbstauskunft“ der Kontoinhaber einholen. Zu den Informationen, die in dieser Selbstauskunft enthalten sind, gehören Steuerwohnsitzland/Steuerwohnsitzländer, sowie die Steueridentifizierungsnummer.

• Im Rahmen des CRS verlangte Informationen

Der CRS verpflichtet die Finanzinstitute:

1) Kunden zu identifizieren, für die einer der CRS-Indizes erscheint:

• Adresse (Post, Wohnsitz, Briefkasten oder care-of) in einem CRS-Staat;

• Telefonnummer eines CRS-Staates (wenn es sich um eine einzelne Nummer handelt);

• Dauerauftrag des AXA Kontos auf ein Konto in einem CRS-Staat;

• Vollmacht über das Konto, die einer Person gewährt wurde, die eine Adresse in einem CRS-Staat hat (Post, Wohnsitz, Briefkasten oder care-of):

2) Kunden mit CRS-Indizes zu dokumentieren.

Die Kunden müssen die Selbstauskunft unterzeichnen, um ihren Steuerwohnsitz/ihre Steuerwohnsitze zu bestätigen.

3) Informationen zu übermitteln über:

• die Identität und bezüglich der Identifizierung der Person, die einen Steuerwohnsitz in einem CRS-Staat hat;

• ihre Konten und den Saldo des Kontos/der Konten (oder entsprechende Informationen, wenn es sich um Lebensversicherungsprodukte handelt);

• die finanziellen Erträge, einschließlich Verkaufsprodukte;

Die erste Informationsübermittlung findet 2017 statt und betrifft das Jahr 2016.

• Die Auswirkungen des CRS auf die Kunden von AXA Luxemburg

Bei neuen Kunden ist AXA Luxemburg verpflichtet, den Steuerwohnsitz der Kunden, sowie ihre Steueridentifizierungsnummer zu erfragen. Wenn diese Angaben fehlen, ist es AXA Luxemburg nicht möglich, dem Kunden einen Lebensversicherungsvertrag auszustellen.

Bei Kunden, die bereits einen Vertrag habenüberprüft AXA Luxemburg die über ihre Kunden vorliegenden Informationen und nimmt eventuell mit denjenigen Kontakt auf, die in den Geltungsbereich des CRS fallen, um eine Selbstauskunft einzuholen, in der sie ihren Steuerwohnsitz und ihre Steueridentifizierungsnummer angeben müssen. Liegt diese Selbstauskunft nicht vor, muss AXA Luxemburg den Kontoinhaber als meldepflichtige Person betrachten.