Compliance

FATCA


The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) entered into force on 1 July 2014.
The FATCA provisions make it mandatory for any financial institution domiciled outside the United States to report to the American Internal Revenue Service (IRS) information about its customers who are considered US persons.

AXA Assurances Luxembourg s.a. has made itself a Foreign Financial Institution (FFI) with the IRS so that it can continue to provide a quality service to all its customers and comply with the FATCA obligations.
By being an FFI, AXA can continue to serve its US person customers when this regulation enters into force.

Common Reporting Standard


The Common Reporting Standard (hereafter CRS) is a regulation developed by OECD. Its aim is fiscal transparency that will lead to automatic exchange of information between States that have adopted the CRS. A participating jurisdiction (or "CRS jurisdiction") is a State that has agreed to incorporate the CRS regulation into its national legislation.

The European Union (EU) adopted the CRS via Directive 2014/107/EU as regards mandatory automatic exchange of information in the field of taxation, known as DAC2. The relations with the non-EU States are managed by multilateral agreements known as Competent Authority Agreements.

Under the CRS, it is mandatory for financial institutions and insurance companies to pass on information about financial accounts and policies with a purchase value held, directly or indirectly, by holders of these accounts or policies when they reside in a CRS jurisdiction.

For further information, please visit the OECD site at the following address: http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/taxation/norme-d-echange-automatique-de-renseignement-relatifs-aux-comptes-financiers-en-matiere-fiscale_9789264222090-fr

• Applicability of the CRS in Luxembourg

As an EU Member State, Luxembourg must transpose the DAC2 into Luxembourg law. As a result, Luxembourg financial institutions and insurance companies must send the information gathered to the local tax authority (Direct Contributions Administration) which will in turn transfer this information to the authorities in the State of residence of the holder of the account.

• CRS scope

The CRS regulations apply to all the financial institutions located in a CRS jurisdiction, which are obliged to identify the residents in another CRS jurisdiction. The CRS applies both to natural persons and legal entities.

The financial institutions must obtain self-certifications from account holders to identify the residents of a CRS jurisdiction. The information that in these self-certifications must include the State(s) of tax residency and the tax identification number.

• Information required under the CRS

Under the CRS, the financial institutions are obliged to:

1) Identify the customers for whom one of the CRS indices appears:

• Address (postal, residence, box number or care of) in a CRS jurisdiction;

• Telephone number of a CRS jurisdiction (where it is a single number);

• Power of attorney on the account granted to a person with an address in a CRS jurisdiction (postal, residence, box number or care of):

2) Document the customers with CRS indices.

The customers must sign the self-certification to confirm their tax residency(ies).

3) Pass on the information regarding:

• The identity and the information about the identification of the person with tax residency in a CRS jurisdiction;

• His account(s) and the account balance (or equivalent in terms of life insurance products);

• Financial income, including sale products;

The first transfer of information will take place in 2017 and will cover 2016.

• The effects of CRS on AXA Luxembourg customers

For new customers, AXA Luxembourg is obliged to obtain the tax residency of customers and their tax identification number. Failing that, AXA Luxembourg is not authorised to distribute a life insurance policy to the customer.

For customers who already have a policy, AXA Luxembourg is going to verify the information held on its customers and possibly contact those who fall within the CRS scope to obtain a self-certification. In this they must indicate their tax residency and provide their tax identification number. Failing that, AXA Luxembourg should consider the account holder as a reportable person.

Compliance

FORMULAIRE FATCA CRS - Personne Physique

  • FATCA


    La réglementation FATCA (Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act) entre en vigueur le 1er juillet 2014.
    Ces dispositions FATCA imposent à toute institution financière domiciliée en dehors des Etats-Unis de rapporter à l'autorité américaine Internal Revenue Service (« IRS ») des informations relatives à ses clients considérés comme des personnes US.

    Pour continuer à fournir un service de qualité à tous ses clients et de se conformer aux obligations FATCA, AXA Assurances Luxembourg s.a. s'est constitué Foreign Financial Institution (« FFI ») auprès de l'IRS.
    Le fait d'être « FFI » permet à AXA de continuer à servir ses clients « US Person » avec l'entrée en vigueur de cette réglementation.

    Le Common Reporting Standard


    Le Common Reporting Standard (ci-après "CRS") est une règlementation développée par l'OCDE dont l'objectif est la transparence fiscale qui va mener à un échange automatique d'informations entre les États ayant adopté le CRS. Une juridiction participante (ou "juridiction CRS") est un État ayant accepté d'intégrer dans sa législation nationale la règlementation CRS.

    Le CRS a été adopté par l'Union européenne ("UE") via la Directive sur l'échange automatique et obligatoire d'informations dans le domaine fiscal (Directive 2014/107/UE), connue sous le nom de « DAC 2 ». Les relations avec les États hors UE sont gérées par des conventions multilatérales appelées « Competent Authority Agreement ».

    Le CRS oblige les institutions financières et sociétés d'assurances à transmettre les informations concernant les comptes financiers ainsi que les contrats ayant une valeur de rachat, détenus, directement ou indirectement, par les titulaires de ces comptes ou contrats lorsqu'ils sont résidents dans une juridiction CRS.

    Pour davantage d'informations, veuillez consulter le site de l'OCDE à l'adresse suivante: http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/taxation/norme-d-echange-automatique-de-renseignement-relatifs-aux-comptes-financiers-en-matiere-fiscale_9789264222090-fr

    • L'applicabilité du CRS au Luxembourg

    Le Luxembourg, en tant qu'État Membre de l'UE, doit transposer la DAC 2 en droit luxembourgeois. Par conséquent, les institutions financières et sociétés d'assurance luxembourgeoises doivent transmettre les informations récoltées à l'autorité fiscale locale (Administration des Contributions Directes), qui va à son tour transférer ces informations aux autorités de l'État de résidence du titulaire du compte.

    • Le champ d'application du CRS

    La règlementation CRS s'applique à toutes les institutions financières situées dans une juridiction CRS et oblige ces institutions à identifier les résidents d'une autre juridiction CRS. Le CRS s'applique à la fois aux personnes physiques et aux personnes morales.

    Afin d'identifier les résidents d'une juridiction CRS, les institutions financières doivent obtenir des self-certifications des titulaires de comptes. Parmi les informations qui doivent être contenues dans ces self-certifications, figurent l'(les) Etat(s) de résidence fiscale(s), ainsi que le numéro d'identification fiscale.

    • Informations requises dans le cadre du CRS

    Le CRS oblige les institutions financières à :

    1) Identifier les clients pour lesquels un des indices CRS apparaît:

    • Adresse (courrier, résidence, boîte postale ou care-of) dans une juridiction CRS;

    • Numéro de téléphone d'une juridiction CRS (au cas où il s'agissait du seul numéro);

    • Procuration sur le compte, accordée à une personne ayant une adresse dans une juridiction CRS (courrier, résidence, boîte postale ou care-of):

    2) Documenter les clients avec des indices CRS.

    Les clients doivent signer la self-certification pour confirmer leur(s) résidence(s) fiscale(s).

    3) Transmettre les informations concernant:

    • L'identité et les informations concernant l'identification de la personne ayant une résidence fiscale dans une juridiction CRS;

    • Leurs compte(s) et le solde de compte (ou équivalent en matière de produits d'assurance vie);

    • Les revenus financiers, y compris les produits de vente;

    La première transmission d'informations aura lieu en 2017 et concernera l'année 2016.

    Les effets de CRS sur les clients AXA Luxembourg

    Pour les nouveaux clients, AXA Luxembourg est obligée d'obtenir la résidence fiscale des clients, ainsi que leur numéro d'identification fiscale. À défaut, AXA Luxembourg n'est pas autorisée à distribuer un contrat d'assurance vie au client.

    Pour les clients qui ont déjà un contrat, AXA Luxembourg va vérifier les informations détenues sur ses clients et éventuellement contacter ceux qui rentrent dans le champ d'application du CRS afin d'obtenir une self-certification dans laquelle ils seront tenus d'indiquer leur résidence fiscale et de fournir leur numéro d'identification fiscale. À défaut, AXA Luxembourg devra considérer le titulaire du compte comme une personne reportable.